Injured mommy

Yesterday I was my usual klutzy self and managed to fall down some porch steps. I scratched up my knee and over extended my ankle. The ankle seemed to be fine after a little ice and rest. I walked around and it didn’t hurt.

20140314-145036.jpg
TJ had a “low” night last night and after tony had given him glucose tabs more than once to bring him back into range Dex alerted again so I got up to check his sugars and decide if he needed more carbs.

20140314-144953.jpg
Which he did. I gave him some jelly bellies and sat and listened to him chew them (loudest chewing ever!) before heading back to bed.
As I walked back and forth checking sugars and giving sweets to my boy, I realized that my ankle was hurting.

After a debating with myself for awhile when my alarm went off I decided that all the steps I get at school, (which I’m usually proud of) would not help my ankle at all. So I stayed home to rest and ice it.

I am using my Fitbit for exactly the opposite of what it was designed for. Instead of trying to see how many steps I can get I’m trying to see how few. I’m at 1,204 steps right now and if I had done my usual morning workout and gone to school I would be well over 10,000. It’s hard to sit and do nothing when you have two active little boys to take care of.
Right now we are outside 🙂 enjoying a break between storms.

20140314-150017.jpg
I’m resting my ankle and the boys are entertaining themselves.
TJ threw his frisbee over the fence and then tried to see if he could get it. G helped him look. (He couldn’t–daddy will have to the next time he’s out here).

20140314-150207.jpg
Then TJ made a new friend. A stray cat wandered in our yard and was happy to be petted.

20140314-150744.jpg
G was skeptical of the cats friendliness and kept his distance. But he was telling me about the cats tail.

20140314-150902.jpg
Then the rain chased us inside. Where the boys are still happily entertaining themselves and I have my ankle up. Although now that I look outside I can see the sun shining and realized the storm was much shorter than I expected.
I see a movie in our future and a very simple dinner. Hopefully our evening goes as smoothly as the day and I can keep my steps under 1,500. 😉

20140314-151415.jpg
And hopefully this is a very minor injury and heals quickly so I can get back to my exercise routine. (I feel weird when I don’t work out now).

Leave a Reply

