Ortiz Update

Sorry, it’s been a long time since my last post. I have been busy and just haven’t felt like I’ve had much going on worth sharing.

This weekend we walked for JDRF. I was surprised by the generosity of our coworkers, friends, and family. I want to say thank you to everyone that donated, you are awesome! I promise to post more on that later (with a couple pics).

It was also Mother’s Day which was a little bit of a bust at my house. I lost my voice this weekend and Tony had to work, so I stayed home and whispered to the boys. We ended up having a very laid back day in our pjs, just watching movies. I am sad I didn’t get to see my mom, or spend time with Tonys family, but I got plenty of rest!

20130512-220741.jpg
We are using the info from TJs new dexcom and bravely going where we’ve never gone before. We are adjusting his basal and his carb ratios with out asking the Dr first! I’m a little worried about it, but we made the smallest increment (.025) change to his basal tonight. We looked at all the history of his BGs and the graphs confirmed our thoughts. He’s high all the time! (Well most of the time) and he’s over 400 way too often. This would be why his A1c went up at his last appointment. The Dr made changes, but they always do minimal changes (like we just did) because its better for sugar babies to be high for short periods of time than it is for them to drop too low.

20130512-221339.jpg
Our goal is to keep TJ between 100-200 but that doesn’t seem to happen as often as it should. We tried changing his carb ratio at dinner last week and it helped a little, but now we think its his basal that needs tweaking. I guess we’ll find out tonight and tomorrow. I’m hoping this works, because if we are wrong Dex will wake us up tonight with low alerts and could keep Tony busy tomorrow with even more low alerts. Only time will tell. Thank God we have the dexcom so we will actually hear the alerts (if there are any) in our room and they’ll be loud enough to wake us up.

20130512-222000.jpg
Otherwise, I don’t think I’d feel comfortable playing with his insulin doses without the Drs help, which would mean waiting until we talk to someone there Monday-Friday between 8am and 4pm. Not always the most convenient times. 😉Please say a prayer that we were right, so we can all get a good nights sleep tonight and start seeing some better, more stable numbers on good ol’ Dex!

2 Comments

  1. Good luck! I hope all goes well as you all adjust.

    • Thanks! It seems to be good so far! 😃 No big BG crashes.

Leave a Reply

