Counting Blessings (Instead of sheep)

One reason I haven’t been blogging as often as I would like to is because I really want to keep my blog positive and I haven’t felt like I had anything but grumpiness to share.

And then I thought of something!

Despite all the drama and craziness that we’ve been going through, we have received many blessings.

TJ has had a few different illnesses since his diagnosis but we haven’t had to deal with any keytones yet. He’s not had to go back to the ER because of an illness, Thank God!

I am surrounded by family and friends that are supportive and willing to help us through all our drama.

I’ve heard of lots of other D-moms dealing with rude people telling them how to parent or ways to “cure” their child’s diabetes or horror stories of people they know with diabetes that lost a limb. I haven’t had to deal with any of that, if any of my family or friends feel they know better how to take care of my kids they are kind enough to keep it to themselves. 😉

We were able to get TJ a pump and a CGM without having to pay anything out of pocket! And without those, treating TJ’s diabetes would be REALLY difficult! We are definitely blessed to have such amazing tools (even though they aren’t perfect)

I have also found emotional support and diabetes advisors in a couple of facebook groups. My fellow D-moms have been invaluable: helping me through issues with TJ’s diabetes and allowing me to vent as well. It also makes me feel good to share what I’ve learned over the last 6 months of dealing with diabetes with other moms.

Despite all the extra medical expenses, we are still able to keep food on the table and a roof over our heads and love in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

