Five Minute Fridays: Change

Trying something new tonight:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

Change.

There has been so much change in our lives this year, I don’t know if I’ll be able to stop myself after just 5 minutes, but here goes!

Recent changes in our lives:

Gabriel is born! TJ (3 years old) was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes, we get TJ on an insulin pump, we get TJ a CGM, Gabriel reacts (in a very scary way) to eggs, our car is broken in to and over $1000.00 of our electronics and other personal belongings are stolen, including my cell phone (It’s been really hard living with only one phone! Even though I have it most of the time).

I think what I really want to write about change tonight is the change in blood sugars I’ve been dealing with since TJ’s diagnosis. It is so crazy to me how erratic my sons BG’s are. Over the last week, since we got TJ on his CGM (Continuous Glucose Monitor) It has really been made painfully obvious how often he is out of range.

All last week I’ve been watching his BG’s range in the 200’s sometimes rising up into the 400’s, while I wait for his insulin to actually start bringing down those numbers. I think that might be the hardest part for me right now, I can see his sugars are high and I can give him his insulin (with out even poking him—thank you pump!) But Insulin is nowhere near instant. Sadly, usually it takes over an hour for those levels to change while I sit there and worry, thinking of all the side effects of high BGs.

It was much easier for me before he was on the pump (and before I knew that 1 in 20 type 1 diabetics die from low blood sugars) because he ran low. As scary as a low is, I know how to fix it. BGs (usually) respond very quickly to sugar, much quicker than highs respond to insulin.

So we change and adapt and try to be strong for our little ones. No matter how scary it is.

On a happier note, I love the way my baby’s face changes when he sees his older brother. All TJ has to do is run past and Gabriel not only gets the biggest grin on his face but actually laughs out loud 90% of the time. The pictures are of my boys playing peek-a-boo. I just love those big cheesy grins and the belly laughs that go with them. It amazes me that through all this change they remain happy, normal kids!

4 Comments

  1. Your boys are beautiful and I can only imagine how hard it must be to control diabetes in someone so young. I wish you all the best. Found you through 5 Minute Friday.

    • Thanks for the comment and the compliment! 🙂 They are pretty amazing little guys! 🙂

  2. I am hoping over from 5 Minute Friday. Your boys are too sweet!! Great pictures.
    A dear friend is dealing with the same thing with her son. My heart goes out to you.
    Blessings,
    Rachel:)

  3. Your sons are such sweet blessings, gifts straight from Gods heart. I have type 1 diabetes, so sorry to hear that your child is having to deal with this disease. Praying for him.

Leave a Reply

