Group activities and meter mishaps

We went to our church picnic today. J

TJ had a blast! He played on the toys at the park.

He went down the slides.

He climbed up the chain wall.

He ran across the wobbly bridge.

And this was the first year he actually interacted with the other kids. He did all the games with the other kids: water balloon toss, relay race, and his favorite….Baseball!

He loved being up at bat and running to get the ball (when he should have been running to first) 😉

He did get bored while his team was in the field.

But he found ways to entertain himself. LOL!

And his sugars were pretty good all day, despite all the running around. J Although, we did have one big problem: I didn’t realize it until we were at my parent’s house after the picnic. I went to check his sugars and his kit was gone! No meter, no strips, no lancer. I searched the diaper bag, the car, my parent’s house, and even went back to the park and looked around and asked the people who were now where our picnic was. No kit.

Luckily my parents had a backup kit, since they watch the boys for us when Tony and I are both at work. We were able to check his sugars and give him the insulin he needed based on that. Still, I couldn’t figure out where his kit could be.

Turns out someone found it and threw it in the ice chest my parents lent to the church for the picnic. Luckily we were able to get it back tonight, but there was water in the ice chest when they put the kit in and the meter seems to have gotten a little wet. We used it to check TJ’s sugars before bed, and he was at 406 we used a different meter to double check that (since it’s really high) and it said he was at 389. Not sure if the one that got wet is damaged or if he was just dropping fast, I guess we’ll find out when we check him again next time. L Hope its ok!

2 Comments

  1. Oh that’s a bummer about his pump! I hope it’s ok 😦

    And it’s a bummer we didn’t end up coming 😦 We were going to but then everyone got tired and cranky and we really just needed to go home for naps. But now I’m regretting it. It would have been fun to hang out and visit!

    • I know how that is! 🙂 Hope you all got to nap! 😉 I was sad you didn’t make it too. Next year! 🙂 and we’ll have to plan a get together soon. We could come visit that’s easier. 🙂 Just let me know when you have enough energy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

